Ecosystem Preschool Lesson

Standard

Last month I taught a preschool lesson on ecosystems. A few moms and I take turns every Wednesday from 9-11:30am teaching preschool to a small group of our 3 year olds. 

My lesson was about different ecosystems. I started off by letting the kids play with my box of plastic animals. As they played, I’d hold up animals and ask where they lived.


I got a TON of books from the library about the following ecosystems:

  • Rainforest
  • Ocean
  • Desert
  • Forest

After I read about each ecosystem, I gave the kids 3 animals to color and glue behind the appropriate ecosystem. 

(This is what the finished product looks like)


And here are the two sheets you’ll need to print out. I’m not an artist.. So I’m really proud of myself for drawing animals that were actually distinguishable!


For snack time, I just gave the kids goldfish (we talked about where they live) and raisins. I didn’t have time or energy to think of anything more creative.

After snack, we sang the song “Ten Little Speckled Frogs” and “Five Little Monkeys Swinging in a Tree”. They loved the songs!

Then they worked on this sheet to practice hand/eye coordination:

Leave a Reply

