Homemade baby wipes 

Standard

Why would I want to make homemade baby wipes?!? Disposable wipes only cost a couple cents each, why bother?

Perhaps disposable wipes aren’t cost prohibitive and they seem easier, but have you looked at the chemicals in them? I’m hesitant to use them because they haven’t been proven safe over decades and decades of use. Call me paranoid, but baby bottles were “safe” and I used them with my 10-year-old… And then when he was a toddler, it was discovered that BPA is actually quite harmful. Oops. When I can, I just try not to take chances. So a few years ago, I did some research and decided to make my very own reusable baby wipes!

I cut up old receiving blankets (the ones that are really too small anyways to be of any use). I made 6″ squares, which has been the perfect size. Then I sewed two of the squares together using a zig-zag stitch on my sewing machine to make them thicker. I don’t have a fancy serger, so the edges did fray some after washing them the first few times. But over time, they’ve held up just fine (this wipe is 2+ years old)…


I use an old wipe container to store them. I fold each wipe in half and stuff them in. It works fabulously! I usually fit around 25 wipes in the container.

 I read that people use a spray bottle and individually moisten each wipe when they use it. Yeah… with 3 kids 3 and under, I don’t have time for that! I wanted them to be ready immediately when I needed them. With a little research, I came up with my own recipe. I’ve been using it for the past two years, on two different babies. I haven’t had any issues or problems (but disclaimer, my kids don’t have any allergies…), and they’ve worked great!

Here is my recipe:

1 1/2 cups boiling water

1/2 Tbsp. coconut oil

1 Tbsp. castile soap

1 drop tea tree oil

1 drop lavender oil


In a small pot, bring the water to a boil. (This sterilizes the water so you shouldn’t have any mold issues, and also makes the coconut oil melt!). Turn off heat, and stir in the rest of the ingredients. Let cool slightly, then pour over top of wipes.

What does each ingredient do?

Coconut oil- helps wipe to glide along baby’s skin

Castile soap- helps cleanse baby’s skin

Tea tree oil (aka Melaleuca)- has purifying qualities

Lavender oil- soothes skin and helps relax baby

I generally go through my box of homemade wipes within two weeks. I’ve never had any issues with mildew, and they’ve stayed moistened without any issues. They smell so good and are a great natural alternative!

Leave a Reply

